Busine after Billingsgate nr. 3

Busine #3 in action

Busine #3 in action

Here’s another replica of the London Billingsgate trumpet, this time built for Ricardo Simian, cornettist and trumpet player in Basel and my colleague in Ensemble Mandragora.  Number three came out beautifully, and Ricardo was very pleased to take the new instrument home.  (I enjoyed playing it enough that I didn’t particularly want to send it off.)

Some pictures!

Billingsgate busine #3

Billingsgate busine #3

 

 

 

Busine #3, N. Wood

Billingsgate busine #3

20140602_124645edited

 

 

With the various yards shown here, it can be tuned in high Bb, A, G, F, E, D or C at A=466.  I tailored the leadpipe to fit Ricardo’s Guitbert-type mouthpiece as per his request.  The bell is made in 0.3mm brass, hammered, spun, scraped and burnished.  The garland is simply the bell rim folded back on itself and soldered in place, as on the original.

The sound is bright and clear, with a solid core and just the right level of brashness; response is good, particularly in setups between D and G.  I’m looking forward to the two of these I’ll be making for myself later this year!

